www.8devices.com
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 17 Dec 2017, 11:45



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Spending a little time with Open-WRT on Carambola 
Author Message

Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 02:52
Posts: 5
OK, after spending a day working on the Open-WRT on the Carambola I have a few observations.

1. I don't know if it's the dev-board or if it is an Open-WRT problem, but I cannot get the router to route across the 2 Network ports. No matter what configuration of VLANs I try, it seems to ignore all the VLAN settings. In fact, it seems to behave only as a switch and I can separate out the 2 NICs. Thoughts and ideas here? What I want to do obviously is assigned one port to LAN the other to WAN, and have the WAN grab and IP via DHCP. Nothing I have done so far works. It is either LAN or WAN, not both.

2. On the OpenWRT I cannot set a password. I try to set one, but it just will not save. I am not sure if this is a bug with the latest Luci from openwrt packages but the only way I could get Luci to work was if I built it in directly using the Carambola buildtree.

3. Wifi... on OpenWRT it shows 2 wifi devices, only one will enable though.

4. Cannot SSH into the device as cannot set password as above.

Otherwise... it appears to be going OK so far, haven't ported the project files to it yet.


02 Feb 2012, 12:10
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 16 Dec 2011, 14:44
Posts: 105
Location: The Netherlands
For the password issues (2 and 4) have a look at:
Ssh issues even after setting a password? Solution inside

_________________
Nut & Bolt | @nut_n_bolt | Carambola posts on the Nut & Bolt blog


02 Feb 2012, 12:20
Profile

Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 02:52
Posts: 5
Well, I fixed some of the issues (and others) I was having by updating and building r29986 trunk of Open WRT for Carambola.


02 Feb 2012, 23:20
Profile
8devices
8devices

Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 19:14
Posts: 5
Quote:
1. I don't know if it's the dev-board or if it is an Open-WRT problem, but I cannot get the router to route across the 2 Network ports. No matter what configuration of VLANs I try, it seems to ignore all the VLAN settings. In fact, it seems to behave only as a switch and I can separate out the 2 NICs. Thoughts and ideas here? What I want to do obviously is assigned one port to LAN the other to WAN, and have the WAN grab and IP via DHCP. Nothing I have done so far works. It is either LAN or WAN, not both.


Can you post /etc/network/config file content ?

Quote:
2. On the OpenWRT I cannot set a password. I try to set one, but it just will not save. I am not sure if this is a bug with the latest Luci from openwrt packages but the only way I could get Luci to work was if I built it in directly using the Carambola buildtree.


Fixed in the latest carambola, see on github/commit history.
Quote:
3. Wifi... on OpenWRT it shows 2 wifi devices, only one will enable though.


I will update default wireless configuration file. It contains entries
it should not have in the first place, our mistake. I mean these
entries:

config wifi-device radio0
option type mac80211
option channel 11
option macaddr 00:0c:43:30:52:88
option hwmode 11ng
option htmode HT20
list ht_capab GF
list ht_capab SHORT-GI-20
list ht_capab SHORT-GI-40
list ht_capab RX-STBC1


Quote:

4. Cannot SSH into the device as cannot set password as above.


Fixed :)


16 Feb 2012, 12:29
Profile

Joined: 18 Mar 2012, 19:06
Posts: 52
Quote:
1. I don't know if it's the dev-board or if it is an Open-WRT problem, but I cannot get the router to route across the 2 Network ports. No matter what configuration of VLANs I try, it seems to ignore all the VLAN settings. In fact, it seems to behave only as a switch and I can separate out the 2 NICs. Thoughts and ideas here? What I want to do obviously is assigned one port to LAN the other to WAN, and have the WAN grab and IP via DHCP. Nothing I have done so far works. It is either LAN or WAN, not both.


Just find "rt305x_esw_data.vlan_config = RT305X_ESW_VLAN_CONFIG_LLLLW;" and replace with: "rt305x_esw_data.vlan_config = RT305X_ESW_VLAN_CONFIG_WLLLL;" in file ~/carambola/build_dir/linux-ramips_rt305x/linux-2.6.39.4/arch/mips/ralink/rt305x/mach-carambola.c .

After compiling and uploading You will get ETH0 - > Wan port , ETH1 -> lan port. Here You are /etc/config/network:
Code:
config 'interface' 'loopback'
   option 'ifname' 'lo'
   option 'proto' 'static'
   option 'ipaddr' '127.0.0.1'
   option 'netmask' '255.0.0.0'

config   'switch' 'eth0'
   option 'reset' '1'
   option 'enable_vlan' '1'

config 'interface' 'wan'
   option 'ifname' 'eth0.1'
   option 'proto' 'dhcp'

config 'interface' 'lan'
   option 'ifname' 'eth0.2'
   option   'proto' 'static'
   option   'ipaddr' '10.0.0.1'
   option   'netmask' '255.255.255.0'


04 Apr 2012, 21:23
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.